DSC 0009 smThe turn-over ceremony was held on 29 September 2015 at 4: 30pm. Mr. Jesus M. Asistin, current PMCP President and PCAP President, led the turn-over ceremony of the PMCP Office located at Room B314, GO Ocfemia Wing, Crop Protection Cluster (CPC), UP Los Ba┼łos, College, Laguna. With the CPC OIC Director, Dr. Teresita U. Dalisay, Mr. Asistin symbolicallyaccepted a large key signifying the amicable agreement between CPC and PMCP to utilize the Office for PMCP Secretariat activities with Ms Ann Kristine O. Medina as the Office Secretary. The current Board has been investing immensely to further improve the efficiency and productivity of present activities and future endeavours of PMCP.

DSC 0016 smOn the other hand, the authors officially presented the PMCP Handbook entitled “Pests and Diseases of Economically Important Crops in the Philippines” to Mr. Asistin. This handbook is a collaborative work of crop protection experts, all of whom are members of the PMCP and the three major scientific societies: Philippine Association of Entomologists (PAE), Philippine Phytopathological Society (PPS) and Weed Science Society of the Philippines (WSSP). The handbook was initiated during the term of Mr. Arturo A. Alejar, Jr. PMCP President 2011-2012, and finished in 2015 under the term of the PMCP Immediate Past President, Mr. Napoleon T. Saavedra. The preparation of the handbook was completed with the financial support from the Department of Agriculture Bureau of Agricultural Research (DA-BAR). For those who are interested on the handbook, you may purchase at the PMCP Office, at Php3,000.00 per copy.

The turn-over ceremony was witnessed by Dr. Teodora O. Dizon, Ms. Julie Aiza L. Mandap, Prof. Johnny F. Balidion of PPS, Dr. Gil L. Magsino, Prof. Juanito V. Bariuan, Ms. Priscilla M. Barcial of WSSP, Mr. Alfredo T. Gonzalez of Crop Protection Association of the Philippines (CPAP), Mr. Rizal F. Alfonso of CropLife, Ms. Ann Kristine O. Medina and Mr. Aldin P. Pagdonsolan, Website Administrator.